Home Forums FZ750 freaks Troubleshooting, advice needed!

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Geoffrey
    Participant

Hi all. I’ve had my FZ 750 for 4 years now and I’m a novice when it comes to motorcycle. All i know is that i love ridding them. I rode the bike for the first summer and stored it. The next summer i tried to get it going and it didn’t work. Kinda took the wind out of my sail so i’ve neglected it ever since. Now i want to get it back in shape. I bought a new battery but the bike wont start. When i try to start it, it clicks and after maybe 10 seconds it stops. There’s an odd sound coming from what i think to be the starter? Also, if i turn the key too far the lights turn on but thats it. The neutral light is my only indicator that the key is in the correct position. Are these typical issues and are they fixable for a newbie. Anything els i can check or do to improve my chances of getting my bike started? Thanks

Jukka Häyrinen
    Participant

Hi! What happens between the first *click and the 10 seconds? It doesn’t rotate the engine the way it should when pressing the start button? Anyway, if u press the start button and it clicks and doesn’t rotate the engine, only the starter motor rotates, u should stop pressing the start button.. Sounds like some pinion or smth in the starter doesn’t catch properly. I haven’t had problems with it yet, so I dunno how to fix it.. Probably a good cleaning will do. Lets wait for professionals opinion.

#1 FZ
    Participant

If it’s been sitting for a while I would get the carbs cleaned out. I had a similar issue with mine after it sat for 2 years. The pilot jets needed to be replaced/carbs cleaned out/new plugs/new fully charged battery and fresh fuel is what it took. It now runs perfectly!

Also, it should fire in less than 10 seconds. If not, you could burn up your starter if you keep the switch in to long.

Geoffrey
    Participant